St. Peter Parish is a vibrant faith community, known in particular for its liturgical music, religious education programs, youth ministry, and charitable outreach.
The parish began in 1896 with Father Hugh Ewing's ministry in northern Columbus, Worthington, and Westerville. Under his leadership, the parish grew dramatically. Because of the impending construction of Interstate 71, in 1969 Bishop Clarence Elwell reluctantly closed the parish and sold its buildings. In 1970, Bishop Elwell created a new parish consisting of portions of St. Michael and St. Andrew Parishes and transferred the title of St. Peter Parish to it. Father William J. McEwan was named its first pastor. The Christmas Midnight Mass in 1973 was the first liturgy celebrated in the new church. The erection of a rectory was completed in 1975, and an education building, named the McEwan Center, was completed in 1979.
By 1987, the parish had grown so large that Bishop James A. Griffin created two daughter parishes, St. Joan of Arc and St. Brigid of Kildare. Continued growth and the need to renovate facilities, as well as fewer priests being available for assignment here, prompted the parish to undertake a massive expansion of its church. The reconfigured worship space was completed in 2001, and the first liturgy was celebrated in it at 5:30 p.m. on Saturday of Palm Sunday weekend.
The parish continues to serve its membership with programs ranging from pre-baptismal catechesis through bereavement ministry. Richly blessed by God, the community is eager to share its gifts with others.